The Furthor Adventures Of…

Its been quiet on the blogging front for a few very good reasons.  Primarily, it is due all that want into my resigning from RIT. We are very excited to announce we are moving to the Cary, North Carolina area so that I may start my new position with Deutsche Bank Global Technologies. It has been hard not talking about what we’ve been doing – only a few close personal friends knew about what we were trying to do.  The waiting was very hard… it required lots of patience

Of late its been all about selling our house in Walworth, NY – it is the last major detail of this move to work out.  If we can’t sell the house in the new few days I’ll have to move down without the family… that’s not the ideal plan, but I am confident that God has a buyer out there for us – everything else has worked out just fine… we just have to be patient…

It is hard to put into words what it means to leave RIT, Rochester, and New York… all at the same time.  The implications are enormous to me and my family.  For example, I am finishing up writing this while proctoring my last final exam for SE361 – a class I love to teach.  We leave some very good people who have been fun to be with (retrieving a bicycle from the canal depths comes to mind) and helpful beyond measure over the years (our last move was a bit crazy).  Also, I am stepping down from my position on the leadership team at Word of Life Christian Fellowship – not a minor deal to me.  I have really enjoyed working with the other members of WOLCF.  However, I do think this is allowing me to step back from a number of responsibilities and reassess what God wants me to be doing.

Another implication is that we are focusing on significantly lightening up our possessions.  Its hard enough to have clothing for seven people in the house let alone anything else… but the general idea is that we need to be ready to do what ever God asks us to do.  Being tied down to so many possessions is counter that idea; it impedes our flexibility and agility to respond when He calls.

In a sense we’re getting a chance to start many things over. This is a very exciting time for us and we are really looking forward to the move (going from 7.3″ snow/week to 7.5″ snow/year also isn’t hard to take).  We pray now for the timely selling of our house so everyone can move at the same time. But more, we pray for the patience to walk in God’s timing knowing that we’re on the right road, but unsure of the exact path the road is taking…


The post title is a nod to a jam track on the very first CD I ever owned of Phil Keaggy‘s : Revelator.

My wife and I thought and prayed… and thought and prayed… and then finally in January, acted.
Tags:

Leave a Reply

